Things You Know (and Didn’t Know) About My Dad

Dr. Wong is a native to the Bay Area and has lived most of his life in San Francisco. He graduated from San Francisco State University with a B.A. degree in Physical Education. His work experiences include Emergency Medical Service in Alameda County and Health Education in Southeast Alaska. He attended Life Chiropractic College-West in Hayward where he earned his Doctor of Chiropractic degree in June 1985, graduating with honors. Dr. Wong was a past instructor at Life Chiropractic College West teaching Chiropractic Biophysics in technique dept. He continues to be active on teaching by having students intern in his office. Dr. Wong completed a certificate in sports injury management and is a certified chiropractic sport physician. He is also a Qualified Medical Evaluator for the state of California. He stays active participating in numerous sports. His accomplishments includes completing the California AIDS Ride, Double Dipsea,  Providian-Saturn Relay, several marathons and multiple half marathons. In the fall, Dr. Wong splits his energy to coach High School  cross country and during the winter season, Dr. Wong coaches a local high school girls basketball team. 

My old man is the best…and here are some reasons why:

  1. He took me to “Mommy & Me” class. I think the picture above is enough to show how awesome my dad is to go to class full of mommies and their preschool-aged children.
  2. He opened, owns, and operates his own business. It always amazes me when I meet someone that starts, own, and run their own business, but I often forget that my dad is one of those amazing people.
  3. He runs with me. Alright, sometimes he makes me run with him…but I have yet to run longer than 9 miles without him by my side. He has driven me to every race that I have signed up for and ran it with me.
  4. He took ice skating lessons with me. When I was 7, I took ice skating lessons at Dublin Iceland once a week. Most parents will bring you to a class and drop you off. If they are patient, they’ll also watch on the sidelines or read a book close by, but my dad was not like that. He enrolled in the adult ice skating class that was the same time as me!
  5. He sewed one of my Halloween costumes (I was a Medieval peasant). Apparently, he took sewing or home economics class in high school.
  6. He built our deck in our backyard. If you haven’t seen my backyard, you can always come over and check it out. Our deck is quite large.
  7. He has done all our oil changes for our cars. I don’t even know what the process is like to go to the shop to ask for an oil change.
  8. He was my basketball coach. In high school, he made me get up early and go to the gym at 6:30am to practice shooting. I don’t know if it made a difference cause I’m still not that great at getting points on the board, but I know that he instilled values of dedication and hard work.
  9. He taught me how to read music. I started learning violin when I was 6 and I had trouble learning music. He sat down with me and helped me get through all the notes. Music is now one of the most important aspects of my life.
  10. He faithfully serves the church he grew up in in San Francisco Chinatown. In a culture where attending church is not valued highly and even though we moved to the East Bay, he remains faithful in serving and participating in our church’s many events and ministries.

“Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations.” Deuteronomy 7:9 

Happy Father’s Day Daddy! I love you!

Leave a Reply

