Fishers in Leith

When recommending restaurants in Edinburgh to my friends and family from California, I get into a bit of a dilemma. Visitors should be eating Scottish food and eat in a traditional Scottish restaurant. The problem is that a typical Scottish dining experience would be at a pub and a pub is not exactly super family friendly. Another issue I find is that most Scottish food include fried foods, potatoes, cream, and buttered pie crusts, which are not foods that I, a semi-lactose-intolerant and “health-conscious” Californian can recommend with a good conscious. The other problem is that my favorite restaurants in Edinburgh tend to be Asian and I can’t bring my guests from California, where there are hundreds of amazing Asian restaurants to eat Asian food in Scotland.

Nonetheless, Andrew and I have a place that we do recommend. It’s called Fishers in Leith. Fishers has another location in the city centre, but this is the original Fishers set in a 17th century watchtower. It’s pretty small and can only sit a few tables at a time, but they have two dining areas serving really great seafood. I find it hard for me to describe the food because it’s just fresh seafood. They don’t try to do anything innovative or try to do a special fusion of flavors so pictures will have to do. We generally just order from their “Favourites” menu and this is what we get.

DSC_4301

Their Fish Soup is basically a seafood chowder. For a large bowl (enough for 2), it’s £6.25. They give you a lot of seafood in it too.

DSC_4305

Fishers Fishcakes were served with lemon & chive mayonnaise and salad. A large is £11.50. I thought it was a little expensive for only 3 fishcakes.

DSC_4302

The Shetland Mussels were steamed in white wine, cream, and garlic. For the large order, it’s £12.50. I’ve had mussels that were fresher when we wer ein Skye, but this had good flavor.

DSC_4304

No seafood spot is complete without raw oysters. THis is Loch Creran Rock Oysters that costs £23 for a dozen. It’s solid.

DSC_4303

The must order is the Chilled Seafood Platter (£19.95). It’s an array of smoked salmon, smoked trout, smoked mackerel, fresh anchovies, rollmop herring, mussels, an oyster, and prawns served with salad.

Service is excellent and I like how the place is still reminiscent of Leith’s history as a harbor and port. The two times Andrew and I have gone, we didn’t make any reservations, but I’d recommend making a reservation since they don’t have many tables.

thumb_IMG_5689_1024

This is me at Fishers in the rain.

One thought on “Fishers in Leith

  1. Pingback: Chelsea’s Guide to Edinburgh | The Chelsea Chapters

Leave a Reply

