I love you, California

Life in Edinburgh is still really hard. I feel discouraged. I’m tired. I still get sad and want to go home.ย Despite my high school dreams to live abroad and do amazing things, I find myself completely lost and broken out here. I’m definitely not who I once thought I was. I’ve learned a lot about myself, my identity, and my values. I’m not as strong and adventurous as I believed I was. I’ve seen how unprepared I am to interact with people who are different than me. I’ve learned how deeply submerged I’ve been in the Asian-American subculture. We’ve been given an amazing opportunity and are so grateful for it, butย we still wonder if we’re really meant to be here.

But then, our generous parents invite us to come home. They cook us prime rib dinners. Our friends clear their schedules and treat us to noodle lunches and copious amounts of boba. The sun shines. And I’m encouraged and reminded that I’m loved, even when I can’t see or feel it. It’s freaking hard, but Andrew and I couldn’t possibly do it without our community in California.ย Thank you for praying for us, taking the time to hang with us, andย walking beside us when we feel most alone.

The 2 weeks went by way too fast and it was so hard to leave.

Here are some pictures:

img_0935

So glad to see waterfalls on my trails again in the Hayward Hills.

img_0937

One of the best things about being back in the Bay is that we constantly run into people we know. This is my high school classmate, Keith. Thanks for serving us!

img_0942

I love walks around Lake Chabot with Judy.

img_0947

Always so good to see and catch up with my MO family.

img_0950

This is still my favorite. QQ Noodle in Milpitas!

img_0955

Love these two families.

Love these girls…and our old post-college/unmarried/unemployed Begonia CG

img_0958

got to see my Taiwanese family before they left too

img_0972

Next time we come, we’ll be sisters!

img_0974

This was my 2nd boba drink of the day…

img_0977

Finally tried Tasty Pot after all the hype there has been on social media. Of course Andrew orders the Cheese & Milk hot pot…

16325808_10104859353383721_1953159941_o

this little boy. ๐Ÿ™‚

16231499_10104859352959571_180856540_o

Best burger in the world.

img_0981

โค One day we’ll be altogether again

img_0985

Milkcow was pretty good. I’ll be back.

img_0990

We went to Ding’s Garden in Rowland Heights for these delicious pan fried pork baos.

img_0988

Got to eat these delicious beef rolls and drive through my old college stomping grounds. I was never thankful for all those Asian plazas.

img_0994

And got to taste what the hype about Creamistry is about… Smitten is still the best.

img_1014

Sushi to last us 4 months!

img_1020

Andrew and his new cuddle buddy

img_1024

Totally fell in love with Grace & David’s IKEA living room. Thanks for letting us stay with you guys!

16326947_10104859352285921_968459998_o

Can’t leave without the pho!

img_1028

Also can’t leave without dim sum.

img_1034

Andrew and all his buddies (compare Derek & Ryan’s head! haha)

img_1040

I love you, California; you have won this heart of mine.

2 thoughts on “I love you, California

  1. I drooled looking at all the yumminess you consumed while you were back home. Looks like you two made the most of your two week visit. Hang in there and know that you remain in the thoughts and prayers of your family and friends in the Bay Area.

    Like

Leave a Reply

